Day of Silence

For those of you who may not have heard about the Day of Silence, it is an event organized by GLSEN. The Day of Silence is student-led and helps bring awareness to the silencing effects of anti-LGBT harassment and bullying in schools. I decided to participate in this event even though I knew it would be hard on a conservative Christian campus. I wanted to raise awareness for the event so I posted a photo on one of my social media accounts. My parents were not very pleased with this. They kept asking why I was posting things about LGBT, why I wasn’t dating, if I was gay, etc. They were appalled at the thought that their kid could possibly be gay. I’m still in the closet if that’s what you’re wondering. My parents took a simple post pretty hard so there was no way that I was going to come out to them. It’s not the best time for me to come out. I still need their support to help me get through college. The fact that they took a simple advocacy post so hard is frustrating. How am I supposed to be myself and explore my sexuality when I am constantly told that I am only allowed to be straight? Sometimes I wonder if I will ever have the courage to come out to them or if they will ever accept me

Leave a Reply

